Am I going through the five stages of grief?

Wednesday, March 07, 2018

It’s almost two months since my son has left for college. I’m managing it quite well though people I meet will almost always bring up the subject of me being in an empty nest and will start asking about him. 

With that, I find it a bit tough to move on. 

And today I think I am feeling a bit depressed about it and wonder if I’m experience any of the stages of the Kübler-Ross Model. 

Most people know the Kübler-Ross Model as the Five Stages of Grief and it was introduced by the author in her 1969 book On Death and Dying.

I am obviously not experiencing a death in this case but I think there is still some kind of grief I’m going through. 

The five stages are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. They are not linear and they do not have a predictable progression. The different stages can come at any time in any sequence. 

I think I’m in the denial and depression stage. It’s not serious but I feel it. 


You Might Also Like

1 comment(s)

  1. The source of grief is loss. Pretty normal to experience grief when a child leaves for college as it is a loss. My suggestion is to find a way to express your grief. A counselor once told me that to grieve was to step into my pain and finding a way to release it. Prayers that you find the wisdom to grieve well.